Branding

Utility Section

Tagline

Utility Tools

Search

Off-canvas Panel

Close Mobile Menu

Faculty and Staff

Administration

Learn More

Mr. Harold Maready

Contact Information:

School Email: harold.maready@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Educational Specialist in Curriculum Design, Rollins College
  • Master's Degree in Learning Disabilities, University of North Florida
  • Bachelor's Degree in Psychology/Sociology, Tennessee Wesleyan College
  • Certification in Education Leadership

Other Information:
Harold Maready is the fourth president in the Vanguard School's 45+ year history. He most recently served as the Superintendent/Founder of the schools of McKeel Academy, which were Florida's first secondary charter school. He was responsible for developing two feeder charter schools by developing business partnerships in the community. These schools served as a model charter school system for the state of Florida. Mr. Maready has dedicated his life to education, and has served in many capacities; including teacher, principal, supervisor of learning disabilities, adjunct professor and superintendent. He has also been recognized by two different Presidents of the United States for his work with learning disabilities and at-risk students.

Learn More

Ms. Marya Marcum-Jones

Contact Information:

School Email: marya.marcum-jones@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Master of Arts in Education, Southeastern University
  • Bachelor of Arts in English with a Minor in History, Metropolitan State College

Other Information:
Marya Marcum-Jones received her undergraduate degree in English/Secondary Education from Metropolitan State College of Denver. She went on to obtain her Master’s Degree in Education from Southeastern University, and she is currently working on her Educational Specialist degree from the University of South Dakota. Marya Marcum-Jones is in her ninth year at the Vanguard School, where she has taught both in Middle and High School, as well as working in the dorms. She has spent her entire career working with teens, and enjoys the opportunity to be a part of such an important time in the lives of students. Her favorite part of working at the Vanguard School is seeing students feel a sense of accomplishment, sometimes for the first time.

Learn More

Mr. Albert Alexander

Contact Information:

School Email: albert.alexander@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Master of Arts in Education, University of South Florida
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, St. Leo University

Other Information:
Mr. Alexander has a wealth of experience in the field of education, and has been working with students for the past eleven years. He is not only a certified math teacher, but is a certified ESE teacher as well. He was applauded for his work with students by being selected as the Charter School Teacher of the Year in 2003. Albert then expanded his horizons by serving as the Assessment/Accountability Coordinator in the Charter School System. He is well-versed in the educational options offered to students with varying needs, and is able to guide parents and their children so that they can make the best choices possible in regards to their children’s future. Mr. Alexander’s work experience also includes 24 years of service to the US Air Force, where he gained valuable insight into management practices while serving in a supervisory position. Mr. Alexander’s dedication to serving students has led him to become a certified Kumon Math Instructor, assisting children not only to develop their math skills, but to also develop a passion for the subject that tends to intimidate so many of our students.

Learn More

Ms. Candi Medeiros

Contact Information:

School Email: candi.medeiros@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Master of Business Administration, Florida International University
  • Bachelor of Science in Business with a Minor in Management and Marketing, University of South Florida

Other Information:
Ms. Candi Medeiros joined the Vanguard Admissions Department in 2010 as the Admissions Assistant; and has since taken on the roll of Director of Admissions, and works in recruiting students. Before joining the Vanguard Family, Ms. Medeiros worked in medical and dental office management. She brings with her an extensive amount of education and hands-on experience; as well as a passion for working with youth. Ms. Medeiros enjoys meeting and getting to know each and every student at Vanguard. The most rewarding moments in her career are watching the students she enrolls graduate.

Learn More

Mr. John Swanson

Contact Information:

School Email: john.swanson@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Associate of Science in Network Engineering, Polk State College
  • Microsoft Certified System Engineer

Other Information:
Native Polk County resident with 15 years experience in the Information Technologies field. Graduated from Polk State College with a Network Engineering Degree and holds an Microsoft Certified System Engineer certificate. John is here to help with all your computer issues, and to make our campus network a more robust one.

Learn More

Ms. Liliana Marshall

Contact Information:

School Email: liliana.marshall@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Musical Theater Degree, Florida School of the Arts
  • Associate of Arts, Polk State College
  • Bachelor of Arts in Spanish, South Florida University

Other Information:

Ms. Marshall is a long time Polk County resident. She was born and raised in Lakeland, Florida.

She has been a teacher for the past 14 years, 10 of which were served at The Vanguard School. Before being the Assistant Director of Admissions, she also served as the College and Career Adviser, Director of Performing Arts Department, Spanish Teacher, and Social Pragmatics Teacher.

Ms. Marshall enjoys meeting and getting to know all the students during their admissions journey and time at Vanguard. She also enjoys building their self-confidence and social awareness.

Learn More

Mr. Mike Ferguson

Contact Information:

School Email: michael.ferguson@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • B.S in Health, Physical Education, and Recreation, Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

Other Information:

Michael Ferguson is in his third year at The Vanguard School where he has taught English, Psychology, Sociology, and Physical Education.

His favorite part of working at Vanguard is watching the students mature from year to year and seeing them graduate.



Learn More

Ms. Mary Parrish

Contact Information:

School Email: mary.parrish@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091


Administrative Support



Bridget Bailey

Marketing and Development Coordinator


Learn More

Ms. Bridget Bailey

Contact Information:

School Email: bridget.bailey@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • Master of Letters in English Studies with a concentration in Medieval Literature, University of Stirling
  • Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in Spanish, Warner University

Other Information:

Bridget joins the Vanguard family as the Marketing and Development Coordinator. Being local to the area, she graduated from Warner University in Lake Wales, Florida with a degree in English and a minor in Spanish. She moved abroad to Scotland to pursue her Master's Degree from the University of Stirling. Upon graduating magna cum laude (with merit), she worked for the U.S. Embassy London's campaign in Glasgow, Scotland. After spending time in this role, she decided to have a career change and moved from the U.K. to Madrid, Spain to become an English and Science teacher. After three years in the Spanish capital, she has moved back to Lake Wales. Ms. Bailey brings an extensive amount of education and experience, both locally and globally. Along with this, she has a passion for students, especially those coming from beyond the U.S. borders. She speaks both English and Spanish fluently.

Learn More

Ms. Lin Butterworth

Contact Information:

School Email: lin.butterworth@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mrs. Tillie Brickner

Contact Information:

School Email: tillie.brickner@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091


Faculty

Learn More

Ms. Amber Carter

Contact Information:

School Email: amber.carter@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mrs. Roberta Halfacre

Contact Information:

School Email: roberta.halfacre@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091




Nancy Hallfin

Testing Coordinator


Learn More

Ms. Nancy Hallfin

Contact Information:

School Email: nancy.hallfin@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Ramanbir Kaur

Contact Information:

School Email: ramanbir.kaur@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091




Karla Lugo

Teacher



Learn More


Mrs. Karla Lugo

Contact Information:

School Email: karla.lugo@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091




Shawn Marshall

Teacher


Learn More


Mr. Shawn Marshall

Contact Information:

School Email: shawn.marshall@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mr. Sam Pederson

Contact Information:

School Email: sam. pederson@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mr. Edward Rauscher

Contact Information:

School Email: edward. rauscher@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Ginger Teppner

Contact Information:

School Email: ginger.teppner@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Cheryl Tysver

Contact Information:

School Email: cheryl.tysver@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091


Academic Support

Learn More

Ms. Sandra Thomas

Contact Information:

School Email: sandra.thomas@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Athletics

Learn More

Mr. Dan Sheppard

Contact Information:

School Email: dan.sheppard@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Other Information:
Mr. Sheppard has worked with Vanguard School students for more than 30 years and has served in numerous positions including Athletic/Recreation Director, Dean of Students, dorm supervisor, PE teacher, and has coached basketball, track, tennis, golf, and volleyball. The favorite part of his job, according to Mr. Sheppard, “is when former students call to tell me how successful they are."


Therapy Staff

Learn More

Ms. Kris Fitzgerald

Contact Information:

School Email: kris.fitzgerald@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education: L.M.H.C.

Learn More

Mrs. Wendy Warman

Contact Information:

School Email: wendy.warman@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education:

  • M.S. in Speech Pathology, University of South Florida
Other Information:
Wendy Warman, M.S., certified speech-language pathologist, has been in private practice for over 30 years. She is also a nationally known business expert in the field of public speaking and communication skills training. Along with being the founder and president of SmarTalkers (www.smartalkers.com), she is co-author of the book Loud & Clear: How to Prepare and Deliver Effective Business and Technical Presentations, with over 300,000 copies sold to date. Mrs. Warman has been enjoying helping students at the Vanguard School since 2002.


Clinical Staff

Learn More

Ms. Yvonne Davis

Contact Information:

School Email: yvonne.davis@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education: L.P.N.


Keriston Gay

Nurse

Learn More

Ms. Keriston Gay

Contact Information:

School Email: keriston.gay@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education: C.M.A.

Learn More

Ms. Jennie Santiago

Contact Information:

School Email: jennie.santiago@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Education: R.N.


Residential Support

Learn More

Ms. Stacy Robinson

Contact Information:

School Email: stacy.robinson@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Residential



Learn More

Ms. Mary Barnett

Contact Information:

School Email: mary.barnett@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Linda Hines

Contact Information:

School Email: linda.hines@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Parrie Link

Contact Information:

School Email: parrie.link@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Linda Melvin

Contact Information:

School Email: linda.melvin@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Carol Montaldo

Contact Information:

School Email: carol.montaldo@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Luis Negrete

Contact Information:

School Email: luis.negrete@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Gale Prettyman

Contact Information:

School Email: gale.prettyman@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Aubrey Sewell

Contact Information:

School Email: aubrey.sewell@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mr. Randy Trammell

Contact Information:

School Email: randy.trammell@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Ms. Ruby Valdez

Contact Information:

School Email: ruby.valdez@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Learn More

Mr. Stuart Whidden

Contact Information:

School Email: stuart.whidden@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091


Tammi Griswold

Learn More

Ms. Tammi Griswold

Contact Information:

School Email: tammi.griswold@vanguardschool.org

School Phone: 863-676-6091

Powered by Finalsite